View Full Version : Fake Robin Auction
Smitty
02-29-2004, 10:20 AM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3707381279&category=23 84
New registrant, out of country, three day auction, opening bid too cheap... Did a text search for a 10 word string of his description and found the guitar for sale here:
http://www.moesguitars.com/electric.htm
Moe's isn't open on Sunday or Monday, but at least we can contact the "WINNING" bidder and he can contact Moe's on Tuesday to confirm...
Smitty
Ken Jones
02-29-2004, 01:50 PM
I saw that too - something is VERY fishy with that auction.
Dave Wintz
02-29-2004, 05:04 PM
Hey guys:
Thats a different guitar. Check the grain pattern. Also we just recieved the warranty card on the one on Moe's website....so it's sold. As regards the other one,,,yeah its too cheap! Good luck!
Dave/Robin
Smitty
02-29-2004, 05:48 PM
We must be looking at different auctions because the pics are identical... You received the warranty card on the BLUE one?
Smitty
Kizanski
03-01-2004, 12:01 AM
"Invalid Item
The item you requested (3707381279) is invalid, still pending, or no longer in our database."
Well...that's that.
Good "looking out" fellas!
Smitty
03-01-2004, 02:42 AM
Kickin' ass and takin' names...
Smitty
Smitty
03-01-2004, 02:44 AM
User was suspended as well, so they shut him down...until he registers again.
Glad no one got taken...
Smitty
John Heath
03-01-2004, 10:47 PM
Being the idiot who bid on said guitar, BIG thanks to SMITTY.
Smitty
03-02-2004, 01:35 AM
Pleasure's all mine. Nothin' like watching those reported auctions disappear... Glad nobody got stuck.
Smitty
Kizanski
03-02-2004, 01:49 PM
Update:
The seller emailed me last night (I had emailed him to see what the shipping would be and to see if the seller was legit).
"If you want this guitar, send $700 US plus shipping. Thank you."
My Response:
"Sure thing, asshole.
I'll give you my credit card number - just take as much money as you need. When you're done, you can have the keys to my house."
What pissed me off the most is that, not only did he have to figure that I knew that the auction got squashed, but if he wanted me to send him "$700 plus shipping" why didn't he just tell me how much shipping was?
Nothing like a stupid, lazy theif.
At least the scams that I run show a bit more imagination and attention to detail.
Craigs Music, Inc
03-02-2004, 01:49 PM
Hey guys, sorry to hear about your experience with the fake auctions. Maybe this will be encouraging. I represent Craig's Music in Weatherford, TX. We are RA dealers and we have three, brand new, never-been-sold Robin Avalons I was about to put on eBay for auction. However, I thought I might contact your group first to let you know more about them before I do. Give you guys first shot at them.
1) Robin Avalon Classic. NAMM show prototype. Dolphin inlays. Highly figured maple top. OHSC.
2)Robin Avalon flatop. Ash body. Cream finish. OHSC
3) Robin Avalon carved ash body. Wood is beautifully grained. OHSC
E-mail us for pics and with any questions at craigsmu@swbell.net. We'd love to hear from you.
Smitty
03-02-2004, 03:35 PM
Kinzanski,
I love the reply... Hey, why don't you forward his email to me as an attachment and I'll see if I can figure out what country it came from, just for sport.
Smitty
Allen Hill
03-04-2004, 06:39 PM
Howdy Gang-
Thanks a ton for hunting down and bagging the bogus Robin auctioneer. I'm glad nobody got had in the scam.
Regarding the stolen content about a legit Robin Ranger Pro--Moe is one of the star pitchers on the Robin team that works hard every day to find caring homes (stages) for our Texas beauties.
Keep on rockin guys and come see us anytime you're in beautiful Houston, Texas.
Allen
Robin
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.